EagleHerald Staff Writer

MENOMINEE—The Menominee Area Public Schools Board of Education met Monday for its annual organizational meeting to elect board officials, determine the dates of future board meetings and introduce the newly-elected board members to their roles.

The board is now made up of a majority of new members: Derek Butler, Nikki Myszak, Dawn Wesolowski and Cindy Woods are new to the board, along with veteran board members Hunter Mans, Mike Maas and Becky Thoune. During the election of the board’s officers, Butler became the board’s president, Wesolowski became vice-president, Myszak became treasurer and Thoune became secretary.

The board also voted to change the date and time of the regular Board of Education meetings. They had previously been held on the third Thursday of every month at 6:30 p.m., and will now be held at 6 p.m. on the third Monday of every month.

After this, the board heard from Mark Eckhardt, who has spoken to new MAPS board members for the last 12 to 15 years or so. “It’s good information for any board member,” said Superintendent John Mans.

Eckhardt said he has had experience as an elementary school principal, a teacher, a local superintendent for the Charlevoix Intermediate School District, and after that worked with the Michigan Leadership District helping boards and superintendents to offer the best educational opportunities for students possible.

“The number one thing is to have the best school district for kids; that’s the number one thing,” he said.

Eckhardt said one of the traits of an effective board member is to be an advocate for children. “Every decision that you make should be for the benefit of all kids. I hope that’s what you signed up for, because that’s your goal. You’re given an opportunity to remind the community of their responsibility for children and their future,” he said.

The board’s next meeting will be a Committee of the Whole meeting Monday at 6 p.m.