FREEDOM, Wis. — The Marinette cross country team notched its second meet of the season under its belt, as the Marines competed in the Freedom Invitational on Friday.

After taking second place in their season-opener at home, the Marine girls weren’t as successful on the scoreboard, notching a 96 to finish fourth. Freedom captured the number-one spot with a 29, followed by Luxemburg-Casco (54) in second and Fox Valley Lutheran (55) in third. With only three runners, the boys team were unable to score enough points to place. Clintonville and Denmark also competed on Friday.

Despite the final score, the Marines saw all 10 runners improve their times from season’s first week.

Freshman Grace Jones gave Marinette its first top-five finish of the year by running a 21:44.16 to finish fifth, just 42 seconds behind Freedom’s Gwen Hinz first-place time of 20:26.74.

Senior Sam Pieper (23:29.02) crossed the finish line in 21st, with juniors Molly Knutson (23:26.52) and Hadley Reines (23:28.27) close behind in 22nd and 23rd, respectively.

Senior Maya Carviou was next to finish for the Marines with a time of 23:40.50, putting her in 26th while junior Ava Dahlman took 31st by clocking a 24:15.89. Sophomore Karissa Valitchka (29:21.73) wrapped things up for the Marine girls with a time of 29:21.73, good enough to finish 51st.

On the boys side, sophomore Ryan Demmith (18:34.55) trimmed two minutes off his time in the season-opening meet to finish 13th. Senior Alec Queever also shaved two minutes from his previous time to claim 20th with a time of 19:40.49. Freshman Rodney Hollar (27:08.12) finished 66th to close out the day for Marinette.

The Marines are back in action on Friday at Oconto Falls. The meet begins at 4 p.m.

Top 10 (Girls)

1. Gwen Hinz (F) 20:46.74; 2. Macy Verhasselt (F) 20:34.54; 3. Megan Vandermause (L-C) 21:32.54; 4. Olivia Krahn (FVL) 21:42.20; 5. Grace Jones (Mar) 21:44.16; 6. Eva Junion (L-C) 21:46.61; 7. Leigh DeWitt (F) 21:51.95; 8. Anika Tollerud (FVL) 21:56.56; 9. Emily Jahnke (F) 22:08.39; 10. Grace Hambel (F) 22:21.36.

Top 10 (Boys)

1. Jack Reiter (F) 17:02.90; 2. Corey Van Groll (F) 17:16.23; 3. Jesse Wilson (C) 17:24.18; 4. Luke Donart (FVL) 17:26.80); 5. Tyson Lonigro (F) 17:31.23; 6. Caleb Zernicke (FVL) 17:31.89; 7. Jaxen Gerndt (F) 17:32.47); 8. Spencer Thiry (L-C) 17:36.00; 9. Owen DeWitt (F) 17:36.72; 10. Nathan Lezotte (F) 17:38.81.