NORWAY — Justin Mondeik of Gleason, Wis., — one of the Midwest’s busiest short-track racers — made a profitable return to Norway Speedway on Friday night.

Mondeik, who a few weeks earlier fought off Dalton Zehr to a thrilling Stateline Challenge win, grabbed the lead on lap three and never looked back, capturing the 35-lap late model feature.

Mondeik started the contest third and motored past early race leader Dean Varda to grab the lead on the third circuit. He kept the top spot through a few caution periods throughout the race. Vulcan’s Dan Lindsley, who started 11th, marched through the field, methodically picking off a car every few laps. Lindsley stormed into the second spot on a lap fifteen restart but was unable to close the gap as Mondeik captured his second Norway feature flag in as many appearances in the season in 2020.

Lindsley hung on for second place money followed by Ryan Hood in third, Mike D’Angelo Jr. in fourth and Bruce White in fifth.

In the super stocks, they broke out the broom for Pembine’s Anthony Schiefelbein, who fought off a fast moving Kevin Peterson in the waning laps to capture the feature. Schiefelbein has won his heat earlier in the night as well.

Peterson stayed in position to take second at the pay window, followed by Ryan Wender, Tim Schultz and Adam Faull.

In the stock division, rookie Trevor Pankratz of Little Suamico, Wis., beat out former division champion Joe Ostermann at the finish line in the feature race. But both drivers clocked sub-18 second laps. The division’s breakout rule sends any driver to the tail of the field if he or she goes under that time. So both drivers were sent to the tale for the finish, handing the win to Aurora, Wis.’s Gary Thom who crossed the finish line third. The feature went green-to-checkered without a caution.

Faithorn’s Elliot Reid skillfully weaved his way through lapped cars and fought off a late race surge mounted by Mike Loberger to win the stock four feature.

Norway’s David Loomis emerged triumphant in the spectator eliminator races.

No time trials were held as the heat, dash and feature races were lined up by a weekly point average.

Next Friday night, July 31 will be the annual induction of racers into the Norway Speedway Hall of Fame. The 2020 class of inductees includes former racers Jamie Iverson of Escanaba, Mike Gardner of Gladstone, Mark Miller of Kingsford, Don Benoit of Escanaba, former track official Roger Deau and longtime DCRA employee Joyce Hansen. As an added attraction the vintage modifieds will be on hand for an exhibition race. Racing gets underway at 7 p.m.


BINK’S COCA COLA SUPER LATE MODEL FEATURE – Justin Mondeik, Gleason, Wis.; Dan Lindsley, Vulcan; Ryan Hood, Niagara; Mike D’Angelo Jr, Marquette; Bruce White, Kingsford; Cory Cootware, Iron Mountain; Scott Stanchina, Kingsford; Jason Wells, Kingsford; Mike Lantange, Vulcan; Robby Iverson, Escanaba; Tim Howen, Kingsford; Joey Pontbriand, Norway; Dean Varda, Vulcan; Robert Younger, De Pere, Wis.

DASH – Lindsley

HEAT - Mondeik; Varda

AUTO VALUE SUPER STOCK FEATURE – Anthony Schiefelbein, Pembine; Kevin Peterson, Marinette; Ryan Wender, Upper Pine Creek; Tim Schultz, Vulcan; Adam Faull, Vulcan; Kelly LaCount, Athelstane, Wis.; Destiny Bullard, Marquette; Bob Schiefelbein, Pembine, Wis.; Jordan Massicotte, Kingsford; Devon Wilcox, Florence, Wis.; Steve Wilcox, Florence, Wis.; Andy Gerwig, Norway

HEAT – Schiefelbein; Bullard

DASH - Peterson

141 AUTO SALES STOCK FEATURE – Gary Thom, Aurora, Wis.; B.J. Schoneck, Marion, Wis.; Pete Fraser, Iron Mountain; Preston Weddle, Crivitz; Todd Schmidt, Spread Eagle, Wis.

HEAT – Trevor Pankratz, Little Suamico

MC SIGNS & GRAPHICS 4 BANGER FEATURE – Elliot Reid, Faithorn; Mike Loberger, Marinette; Jake Dulford, Vulcan; Dean Bellmore, Hermansville; Cory Grondine, Hermansville

HEATS 1) Isaiah Lawrence, Spruce, WI; Courtney Anderson, Menominee 2) Zach Gazda, Vulcan; Dulford

Spectator Eliminators – David Loomis, Norway